Yeah…It’s December 3rd

And that means a couple of things. It means that today would have been my Grandmother’s birthday, AND anniversary. And to honor that, it became my anniversary as well. So, today, we put politics aside for something a lot more mushy!

It was on this day some 41 years ago that a farm girl from east central Ohio became my wife. We were both seniors at Ohio University, and had driven back to my hometown for the ceremony. My mom, bless her heart, put the whole thing together. We were married in a tiny little chapel on a college campus. In fact, it’s so small that the last time I went back to that town, I stopped by the college. It’s no longer a chapel. It’s a broom closet.

Anyway, the weather did everything. It rained, it snowed, it was warm, it was cold, it was cloudy, and it was sunny. But for two kids just starting off life together, we could have cared less. We wanted each other, and still do today. Oh, we’re both a little heavier, both a lot older, and a lot wiser, but the love has grown and blossomed with time.

I can only tell you that anybody that lived my story with my wife in those early years would never question the existence of God, and the fact that He has a plan for all of us. How the two of us got together, how we defied all odds, how we managed to find each other time and time again only to break up and then get back together has to be proof that there was a higher power directing us. It was one of those things that looking back, you have to shake your head and say, “I guess we were meant to be together because there’s no way in the world we SHOULD have stayed together after that rocky relationship early on!”

But we have managed pretty well. We were blessed with the two greatest kids you could ever ask for. And they were blessed with the two greatest kids you could ever ask for. While we had our ups and downs, good times and bad, booms and busts, that everyone goes through, I can’t imagine doing it with anyone else by my side.

So, it’s on this day, this December 3rd, that I once again say, “Happy Anniversary, Honey!” I love you more today than I ever have, and hope we get lucky enough to have another 41 years together! Thank you for the best ride of my life!

Carry on world…you’re dismissed!

6 thoughts on “Yeah…It’s December 3rd

  1. Congratulations and may God Bless! Wishing you and Kathy many more years of love, happiness, and laughter as well as good health!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very,very nice and I know you have really been happy – and I DO wish you another 41 years together! Love to you both

    > WordPress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.