OK…It’s My Shot At Being A Romantic

I don’t get to do this often. In fact, except for Thanksgiving when I tell the world what I’m thankful for; Christmas, when I remind everyone why it is we celebrate Christmas in the first place; my Mom’s birthday, I mean, she’s my mother for cryin’ out loud; and today, I don’t waver too often from the world of politics and media. 

Today is different.

It was 40 years ago today, in a small town in southeastern Michigan that a farm girl from east central Ohio became my wife. I’ll never forget the day. It started off sunny, turned cloudy, it rained for a little bit, and yes, even snowed. It had something for everyone. We got married in a little chapel on the campus of Adrian College. In fact, the chapel was so small, it’s not even there anymore. It’s now a storage closet. The president of Adrian College married us, and I was (and still am) the happiest guy in the world.

My wife and I were college kids and were going to school in southeast Ohio. My mom planned the wedding, and the most expensive wedding planner in the world couldn’t have done a better job. It was basically family, and a few family friends. My best man was my buddy from high school, who was home from Michigan State. The maid of honor was my wife’s sister. We had lunch in the dining hall, then went back to my mom’s house for a reception. My wife and I then headed to Columbus to spend our wedding night, because we both had jobs to get back to at school.

That was the beginning. Now, some 40 years later, it’s hard to believe that every year I relive that day, and can remember more details about it than I could ever share. We have two great kids, and four super grandkids. We don’t get to see any of them as much as we like, but we do enjoy seeing them when we can. At some point today, my wife and I will take a few moments, and fondly recall the wedding, the guests, and the memories of a lifetime together. And to be honest, I can’t begin to imagine taking this crazy life’s journey without her by my side. We’ve lived in only a few places, which is extremely rare for someone coming from the broadcasting industry. And we’ve settled down into our “last house”…at least, that’s what we say for now. 

So, today I dedicate my blog to my best friend, my lover, my confident, my wife. Thank you for putting up with me for 40 years. Thank you for being my partner and for teaching me more than any educator or professor I ever had could. Thank you for saying “I do” 40 years ago…even though the minister wanted you to be my “husband” instead of my wife. Thank you and know forever that I love you.

Carry on world…and thanks for letting me share this. You’re dismissed!

4 thoughts on “OK…It’s My Shot At Being A Romantic

  1. Congratulations! You’re a lucky man and I wish you many more happy, healthy years together. Long marriages have become very rare, as is the commitment to the vows you took.

    And we never had a fight! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do believe you’ve outdone yourself! The very best article ever! And I remember also! Love – and happy rest of the journey! Mother

    > WordPress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.